Kat Clay Author headshot

Kat Clay is a writer, critic, and content producer from Melbourne, Australia. In 2017, she was longlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger award for her unpublished novel, Victorianoir. Her short story ‘Lady Loveday Investigates’ won three prizes at the 2018 Scarlet Stiletto Awards, including the Kerry Greenwood Prize for Best Malice Domestic.

Kat’s short stories have been published in Translunar Travelers Lounge, Aurealis, SQ Mag, and Crimson Streets. Her non-fiction and criticism has been published in The Guardian, The Victorian Writer, Literary Traveler, Travel Weekly, Matador Network and Weird Fiction Review.

Her novella, Double Exposure, was released in print and e-book with Crime Factory and was longlisted for the Davitt Award for Australian women’s crime fiction.

She has been nominated for Aurealis and Ditmar Awards, shortlisted in the SQ Mag Short Story Contest for her horror tale Reef, and received an honourable mention in the Australian Horror Writers Association Shadows Awards for non-fiction criticism.

Her fiction traverses noir, horror, fantasy and the weird, exploring topics such as sinister cities, haunted photography, the perils of history, and the representation of women in fiction. When she’s tired of being serious, as a devotee of Miss Austen, she delves into social satire.

Kat holds undergraduate degrees in Media Arts and International Studies, as well as a Graduate Diploma in Creative Writing from UTS. While studying at university, she completed a year abroad at the Universite de Poitiers, France. She speaks French and has visited over 35 countries, including living in South Korea for a year.

Her hobbies include hiking in national parks around the world, eating mint choc tops at retro cinemas and completing video games on nightmare mode.


Photography and Video Production

As a digital creative, her video and photographic work has been seen on national news programs, and used by National Geographic, Lonely Planet, and many well-known brands. Her professional experience includes video production and digital design for non-profits, government, and commercial businesses.

To view her photography portfolio, visit Tropic of Camera.

Longlisted - CWA Debut Dagger Award


WINNER - 2018 Scarlet Stiletto Awards


The Sun Bookshop Third Prize

The Kerry Greenwood Malice Domestic Award


The Athenaeum Library

Body in the Library Runner-Up

Non-fiction & criticism

Shortlisted - 2017 Aurealis Awards

Honorable mention - AHWA SHadows Award

Best horror story - Reef

Non-fiction & criticism

Longlisted - Davitt Awards

Shortlisted - 2017 AHWA Rocky Wood Award

Non-fiction & criticism

Double Exposure